top of page
England map.png

Welcome to Battle of the Regions

Where the best films from each of the eight regions of England go head to head to be crowned the Champion of England!

Battle of the Regions Competition Rules:

1. Eligibility:

  • The competition is open to filmmakers residing in the eight regions of England: North East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, London and South East, and South West.

  • Participants must be legal residents of their respective regions and must be at least 18 years old to enter.

2. Submission Guidelines:

  • England International Film festival will nominate one film per region as its official entry into the competition.

  • Films must be original works and should reflect the cultural, social, or geographical essence of the respective region.

  • All film durations, genres and styles of filmmaking are welcome.

3. Selection of Regional Champion:

  • A panel of judges, appointed by the EIFF, will review and select the nominated film from each region to represent their area in the competition.

  • The nominated film from each region will be screened at the annual Battle of the Regions event.

4. Annual Event and Voting:

  • The annual Battle of the Regions event will feature screenings of the eight nominated films.

  • Attendees, including industry professionals, filmmakers, and the general public, will have the opportunity to watch the films.

  • A panel of judges will be employed to determine the winning film. Verdicts will be cast based on artistic merit, storytelling, technical excellence.

5. Winner and Prize:

  • The film that receives the highest number of votes will be crowned the Battle of the Regions champion.

  • The winning region's filmmaker will receive a cash prize of £750 as recognition for their outstanding contribution to the competition.

6. Rights and Permissions:

  • By submitting their films, participants grant the organisers the right to screen the films at the Battle of the Regions event and for promotional purposes related to the competition.

7. Deadline and Submission:

  • Submissions must be received by the specified deadline set by the organisers for consideration.

8. Disqualification:

  • Films that infringe upon copyrights, contain hate speech, explicit content, or violate any laws or regulations will be disqualified.

9. Organisational Authority:

  • The organisers reserve the right to amend, modify, or cancel any aspect of the competition if necessary, and their decisions regarding the selection of films and determination of the winner are final.


What about the rest of the world?

Best International Film

Don't worry! We still want the rest of the world included! Whilst we aim to foster creativity within England we also encourage international filmmakers and filmmakers from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland so submit to our Best International Film Award! The top three films will be screened at our Battle of the Regions event, with one receiving the Best International Film award and a cash prize of £250.

bottom of page